The Fix We’re In For: 2015 Bridge Conditions

All States ¬

Mississippi Bridges

  • State rank
    11 of 51
  • Percent deficient:
  • Total bridges
  • Structurally deficient:
  • More/less deficient bridges since 2011:
    -11.0% better
  • Average age
    33 years
  • Average age - deficient bridges:
    45 years
Best Counties Deficient
Tunica County 1.3%
Rankin County 1.4%
DeSoto County 2.6%
Claiborne County 2.9%
Harrison County 3%
Worst Counties Deficient
Carroll County 37.2%
Amite County 36.9%
Sunflower County 33.5%
Wilkinson County 33%
Attala County 32.5%

Deficient Bridges

  • 17%+
  • 12-17%
  • 7-12%
  • 0-7%

Do you drive on deficient bridges?

Updated with current 2015 data from USDOT. Enter an address to locate nearby bridges and see which ones are structurally deficient — bridges requiring significant maintenance, rehabilitation or replacement.

2015 State Reports

OREGON: Click to view the 2015 state report for Oregon. Released June 11, 2015

MINNESOTA: Click to view the 2015 state report for Minnesota. Released April 30, 2015

Tell Congress to fix it

Add your name to the growing list of Americans calling on Congress to fix it for America and give us safe, affordable and timely transportation options that we need

2013 National Report Resources

Visualizing the 2013 numbers

Click to see the infographic, learn more, and share it with your friends.

Please note: This infographic is sourced from 2013 data and accompanied our 2013 national report release.

Looking for our last national report?

Read the last national report from 2013. 11 percent of all U.S. highway bridges are structurally deficient— bridges requiring significant maintenance, rehabilitation or replacement.

Download the 2013 report.

Mississippi Counties, Ranked by Percentage of Structurally Deficient Bridges

CountyTotal # bridgesDeficient bridgesPercent of bridges that are deficientAverage daily traffic on deficient bridges% of total daily bridge traffic on deficient bridges
Carroll County2318637.2%6,1942.2%
Amite County2338636.9%10,8957.5%
Sunflower County1765933.5%7,2704.6%
Wilkinson County1153833.0%2,9356.5%
Attala County2468032.5%45,97024.4%
Quitman County1213932.2%38,56533.4%
Lafayette County2658230.9%15,6453.1%
Tallahatchie County1624829.6%17,42520.1%
Franklin County1584528.5%2,6552.1%
Yazoo County2867827.3%7,8451.3%
Panola County2456325.7%29,7954.7%
Washington County3298224.9%7,4052.1%
Bolivar County2897024.2%12,7906.6%
Tippah County1613924.2%5,8252.9%
Marshall County2395623.4%54,2959.0%
Prentiss County2154822.3%22,2387.5%
Lincoln County3918622.0%18,4563.0%
Humphreys County1052321.9%2,5602.7%
Jefferson County1032221.4%1,6162.6%
Jasper County1974221.3%74,98029.6%
Pike County2354920.9%15,6103.4%
Holmes County2224620.7%9,2782.0%
Adams County1012019.8%7,8403.3%
Tate County1432819.6%76,23521.7%
Itawamba County2244218.8%13,8553.6%
Union County2073717.9%16,4762.8%
Sharkey County641117.2%4,88511.5%
Smith County1803117.2%3,1102.4%
Walthall County1722816.3%2,8902.1%
Benton County1071715.9%10,2605.0%
Calhoun County2213415.4%33,38015.2%
Lawrence County1402014.3%4,4104.3%
Montgomery County1912714.1%2,9801.3%
Newton County2463313.4%11,1902.1%
Simpson County2102813.3%5,1001.5%
Webster County1842312.5%2,5781.2%
Alcorn County2182712.4%19,8262.8%
Hinds County6587912.0%114,5411.8%
Pontotoc County1631911.7%16,4054.9%
Lauderdale County4935711.6%44,9602.5%
Hancock County1051211.4%14,8203.2%
Tishomingo County1491711.4%4,3752.2%
Jones County3363811.3%35,1603.2%
Clarke County2332611.2%17,6904.9%
Noxubee County1962211.2%2,0501.4%
Choctaw County161169.9%1,3801.2%
Clay County151159.9%1,4800.6%
Copiah County254259.8%5,0201.3%
Pearl River County234239.8%21,1403.4%
Perry County169169.5%11,4835.2%
Madison County313299.3%12,9260.8%
Stone County118119.3%4,3802.2%
Jefferson Davis County142139.2%9101.0%
Greene County167159.0%2,6202.0%
Covington County171158.8%24,5406.5%
Issaquena County2328.7%3553.2%
Leake County206188.7%14,0204.0%
Oktibbeha County230208.7%7,3401.4%
Yalobusha County163148.6%3,8451.5%
Marion County212188.5%4,6251.3%
George County11098.2%1,4601.1%
Lee County383287.3%15,1750.8%
Wayne County211157.1%17,4307.1%
Winston County184137.1%1,7711.1%
Warren County172127.0%50,2655.4%
Forrest County290206.9%65,5405.1%
Monroe County290155.2%9,6301.6%
Kemper County214115.1%8450.5%
Lowndes County241125.0%25,7302.7%
Leflore County14274.9%5,3901.9%
Jackson County248124.8%67,7025.1%
Neshoba County19494.6%7,4502.0%
Grenada County15974.4%30,7007.6%
Chickasaw County245104.1%9,7303.3%
Coahoma County11643.4%10,5006.1%
Scott County20573.4%2,0300.5%
Lamar County15853.2%12,8102.3%
Harrison County29993.0%39,5911.4%
Claiborne County13942.9%1,2501.2%
DeSoto County22862.6%15,6600.8%
Rankin County36751.4%18,6000.7%
Tunica County7911.3%1,2001.1%

*2012 FHWA summary statistics are used for New Hampshire and Tennessee's deficient bridge totals due to significant discrepancies between FHWA summary statistics and the data in the NBI. The TN & NH county numbers reflect our analysis of the NBI and will differ slightly from the state totals in the national rankings. Click here for more info on the data.